GROTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS GROTON, CONNECTICUT (*Attachments are available upon request in the Superintendent's Office.)

Special Meeting

February 11, 2015

A special meeting of the Groton Board of Education was held on February 11, 2015, in Rooms 1 and 2 of the Senior Center, for the purpose of conducting a budget Worksession on the proposed 2015-2016 budget.

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

The meeting was called to order by Mrs. Kim Shepardson Watson, Vice Chairperson of the Board, at 7:25 p.m.

PRESENT

ABSENT

Mrs. Kim Shepardson Watson, Chairperson Dr. Andrea Ackerman Mrs. Patricia Doyle (arrived at 7:00 p.m.) Mrs. Katrina Fitzgerald Mrs. Elizabeth Gianacoplos Ms. Mary Kelly Mr. Joey Schick Mrs. Rita Volkmann, Vice Chairperson Dr. Kirsten Hoyt

Dr. Michael Graner, Superintendent of Schools
Ms. Susan Austin, Assistant Superintendent
Mr. Michael Emery, Director of Teaching and Learning
Mrs. Denise Doolittle, Director of Pupil Personnel Services
Mr. Kevin Lemoi, Director of Technology Services
Mrs. Laurie LePine, Director of Human Resources
Mrs. Patrice Granatosky, RTM Member
Mr. Robert Zuliani, Citizen
Mrs. Beth Horler, GEA Chairperson
Mr. Larry Croxton, GEA Vice Chairperson

Mr. Samuel Kilpatrick, Director of Buildings and Grounds

The Board held an extensive discussion of the proposed 2015-2016 budget.

Mrs. Gianacoplos asked the Superintendent for:

- All contract % increases
- Current enrollment numbers
- Technician further information regarding the position going from .5 to 1.0

Other requests from Board members:

- Correct Dept. Heads to Curriculum Coordinators
- > What are the Coordinator positions; add them to the description page

Special Meeting February 11, 2015 Page 2

Board members asked that the Preferred Class Sizes be added to the Board agenda for approval after the completion of the budget process.

The Board asked the Superintendent to prepare proposed cuts including what should not be cut. They also requested to know what percentage of the total budget was fixed.

A motion was made by Mr. Schick and seconded by Mrs. Fitzgerald to adjourn at 8:50 p.m.

PASSED - UNANIMOUSLY